Communication Protocol

Communication Protocol

Communication Protocol

Hampden Charter School of Science (HCSS) administration, faculty, and staff are eager to accommodate your needs, questions, and concerns in the most efficient manner. HCSS encourages parents/guardians to address their questions and/or concerns directly with the teacher or the individual staff closest to the source of the question. For example, the child’s teacher is the most appropriate person with whom to speak regarding a question about his or her school progress, classroom behavior, and educational program as he/she is most familiar with the child.

The school has guidelines that allow for fairness and consistency as we serve our students and families. Our school community understands that clear, two-way communication is a vital component to a healthy school environment. If you have a question or concern, please follow this communication protocol:

1 – Contact with your child’s teacher or staff who is closest to the source of your question.

2 – If the concern still persists, then contact the grade chair. The Grade Chair will then work with your student and you to try to work out the problem. They will divert your concern to the appropriate school personnel (such as the School Adjustment Counselor, Dean of Academics, SPED Coordinator, Dean of School Culture).

Grade Chairs Emails
6th Grade: Bayleigh Murphy bmurphy@hampdencharter.org
7th Grade: Brittany Cross bcross@hampdencharter.org
8th Grade: Michael Falcetti mfalcetti@hampdencharter.org
9th Grade: Amelia Fuss afuss@hampdencharter.org
10th Grade : Ivy Weiskopf iweiskopf@hampdencharter.org
11th Grade: Christopher Fanning cfanning@hampdencharter.org
12th Grade: Madison Taylor mtaylor@hampdencharter.org

3 – If the concern is not addressed with the proposed resolution by the appropriate school personnel, you should contact the Dean of Student Services, Dean of Students, SPED Coordinator, or School Counselor

Counselors and Administration Emails
Joan Normand, Social Worker jnormand@hampdencharter.org
Jessica Mcintyre, Adjustment Counselor (Middle School) jmcintyre@hampdencharter.org
Nancy Kirkpatrick, Director of Special Services nkirkpatrick@hampdencharter.org
Yasin Akgul, Dean of Academics yakgul@hampdencharter.org
Rodney Smith, Dean of School Culture rsmith@hamodencharter.org
Jerry Moore, Dean of School Culture jmoore@hamodencharter.org

4 – If the concern is not addressed by the appropriate school personnel, you should contact the Director, Ms. Nelson rnelson@hampdencharter.org.

5- If the situation remains unresolved, you should contact the CEO, Mr.Topcuoglu, ttopcuoglu@hampdencharter.org | (413) 593 9090 x200.

6- If the situation still remains unresolved, you should place your concern in writing to the Board of Trustees. Your written request should be mailed to the following address.

Hampden Charter School of Science Board of Trustees

20 Johnson Rd. Chicopee, MA 01022

WELCOME SATURDAYS APPLY TODAY